Who have received the Sakharov Prize and the Nobel Peace Prize?

The winner of the Sakharov Prize 2021 will be announced this Wednesday at the European Parliament in Strasbourg.

The “Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought” rewards individuals and organizations that defend human rights and fundamental freedoms. It has been awarded annually since 1988.

Five of its laureates have also received the Nobel Peace Prize, the same year or later, as if the Sakharov Prize “inspired” the members of the Nobel Committee.

This is the list.

Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela, a leading figure in the fight against racist apartheid in his country, South Africa, was the first winner of the Sakharov Prize in 1988. The prize was awarded to him while he was still in prison.

Released in 1990 after 27 years in prison, Nelson Mandela worked for reconciliation alongside then-South African President Frederik de Klerk. The Norwegian Nobel Committee praised “their work for the peaceful elimination of the apartheid regime” and awarded them the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993.

Aung San Suu Kyi

Aung San Suu Kyi is a pro-democracy activist and opponent of the military dictatorship in her country, Myanmar (Burma).

She was jailed in 1990 for her commitment as head of the National League for Democracy (an opposition party). The European Parliament awarded him the 1990 Sakharov Prize.

Later the “Lady of Rangoon” received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1991.

In an unprecedented gesture, in 2020 the Conference of Presidents of the European Parliament formally excluded Aung San Suu Kyi from the Sakharov Prize community. It was a way of sanctioning their inaction and acceptance of the crimes that are being committed against the Rohingya community in Myanmar.

Malala Yousafzai

Malala Yousafzai’s fight is for girls’ right to education.

In 2012, at the age of 15, he escaped an attack by the Pakistani Taliban. Since then, the young Pakistani has lived in England. He continues to denounce religious obscurantism and campaigns for children’s access to education.

This fight earned him the Sakharov Prize in 2013 and the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.

Nadia murad

A member of the Yazidi religious minority, the young Iraqi of Kurdish origin Nadia Murad was kidnapped in 2014 by jihadists from the Islamic State group and reduced to sexual slavery.

After escaping, she settled in Germany and testified about the horrors she experienced, denouncing human trafficking and sexual violence.

Nadia Murad received the Sakharov Prize in 2016, along with another former Daech hostage, Lamia Haji Bachar.

Two years later, the Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded “efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war,” and awarded the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize to Nadia Murad and Denis Mukwege.

Denis Mukwege

Nicknamed “the man who fixes women”, Dr. Denis Mukwege is a Congolese gynecologist.

Help women victims of sexual violence in eastern Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

This commitment earned him the Sakharov Prize in 2014 and the Nobel Peace Prize in 2018 (jointly with Nadia Murad – see above).

We want to give thanks to the author of this write-up for this outstanding material

Who have received the Sakharov Prize and the Nobel Peace Prize?

Hank Gilbert