The six Latin American winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature | Latino Ball

Gabriel García Márquez, Colombian author | Source: AP

The Nobel Foundation, from 1901 to date, grants multiple awards recognizing the contribution to humanity made by certain people. These people must have excelled in one of the fields pointed out by Albert Nobel, who inspired and financed the awards. These areas are: Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Peace and Literature. Currently, an award is also given for contributions in the economic field, although this was not contemplated in the will of Albert Nobel. In this case, in Latin Ball, we will remember those Latin Americans who have been awarded the award Nobel Prize in Literature.

The list of winners for this particular award is long. In total, 113 awards have been awarded to 117 writers. Of all of them, only six times has a Latin American author been recognized. These six characters have been great writers of Chile, Peru, Colombia, Guatemala, and Mexico.

Latin Americans with Nobel Prize in Literature

Chile: Neruda and Mistral

Gabriela Mistral
Gabriela Mistral, first Latina woman to win the Nobel Prize in Literature | Source: University of San Sebastián

Chile is the only country that has two authors as award winners. The first award was obtained by the writer Gabriela Mistral in 1945. The Chilean was the first Latina to be decorated and, in addition, she is the only Latin American woman to have a Nobel Prize in Literature. His work consists mainly of poetic pieces that enhance the “Idealistic aspirations of the Latin American world.” Among his best known writings, he finds Sonnets of death (1915) and Desolation (1922).

The second Chilean on the list is Pablo Neruda. Just two years before his death in 1973, the acclaimed poet had his deserved recognition. The Foundation highlighted in 1971 the value of his poems in bringing to life the destiny and dreams of the continent.

Guatemala: Miguel Angel Asturias

Between Mistral and Neruda, Asturias received recognition for his work as a writer. In 1967, the Guatemalan was awarded in Sweden. Punctually, his contribution to the vindication of the indigenous roots of their country and the continent. Along these lines, one of his most valued works is Corn men (1949), a text inspired by local indigenous communities and the great threats they experienced [y aún viven].

Miguel Ángel Asturias | Source: Free Press

Colombia: Gabriel García Márquez

‘Gabo’, as he is known, received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982. His contributions to literature are marked by the style of his most celebrated works. This style has been cataloged within the movement of the magical realism. His masterpiece, One hundred years of loneliness (1967), is part of this movement and has been considered one of the most iconic works of Latin American literature.

Mexico: Octavio Paz

Born in the Mexican capital and raised in the middle of the Revolution, Paz is recognized for his writings and poems. The Nobel Foundation awarded him the prize in 1990, for his “Passionate writing”. He was a very prolific writer, with multiple published essays and various poetic works to his name. In addition, he had a great reputation in intellectual circles for his reflections on poetry, love and political and social issues, both from the past and from his time. Regarding his thought, his work The Double Flame (1993), exemplifies the reason for your reputation.

Nobel Prize in Literature
Octavio Paz | Source: Getty Images

Peru: Mario Vargas Llosa

Finally, in 2010, Mario Vargas Llosa became the last Latin American to receive the award in question. The Peruvian author was awarded by “His cartography of power structures and his scathing images of individual resistance, rebellion and defeat”. Unlike several of the previous authors, his main contributions came from the novel and literary criticism. Among his most recognized texts, they can be highlighted The City and the Dogs (1963), The Green House (1966) or The war of the end of the world (1981).

We wish to thank the author of this post for this amazing content

The six Latin American winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature | Latino Ball

Hank Gilbert