Nobel Peace Prize: everything you need to know

(CNN Spanish) – The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize has yet to be awarded. It will be announced on Friday, October 8 at 5 ET. Here we tell you everything you need to know about this award.

  • The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 101 times between 1901 and 2020, to 107 people and 28 organizations, according to the official site Nobel Prize.
  • The Peace medal has the inscription in Latin: “Pro pace et fraternitate gentium”, which translated means “For peace and the brotherhood of men”.
  • The Nobel Peace Prize is usually awarded at its own ceremony in Oslo, Norway. There were some years when it was not delivered. The most recent case was 1972.
  • The 2020 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the World Food Program (WFP) “for its efforts to combat hunger, for its contribution to improving peace conditions in conflict-affected areas and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict. “

Women who received the Nobel Peace Prize

According to him Official site of the organization, between 1901 and 2020, the Nobel Prize and the Economic Sciences Prize have been awarded 57 times to women. 17 of these women received the Nobel Peace Prize. This is the list:

2018 – Nadia murad

2014 – Malala Yousafzai

2011 – Ellen johnson sirleaf

2011 – Leymah Gbowee

2011 – Tawakkol karman

2004 – Wangari Muta Maathai

2003 – Shirin ebadi

1997 – Jody williams

1992 – Rigoberta Menchu ​​Tum

1991 – Aung San Suu Kyi

1982 – Alva myrdal

1979 – Mother teresa

1976 – Betty williams

1976 –Mairead corrigan

1946 – Emily Greene Balch

1931 – Jane addams

1905 – Baroness Bertha Sophie Felicita von Suttner, née Countess Kinsky von Chinic und Tettau

Latinos who received the Nobel Peace Prize

  • Juan Manuel Santos, 2016 Nobel Peace Prize winner for his efforts to bring peace to Colombia after more than 50 years of conflict
  • Guatemalan Rigoberta Menchu, 1992 Nobel Peace Prize winner for her work in favor of social justice and ethno-cultural reconciliation
  • Óscar Arias Sanchez, former president of Costa Rica, 1987 Nobel Peace Prize winner for his work for peace in Central America
  • The Mexican Alfonso García Robles was awarded in 1982 along with the Swede Alva Myrdal for his work in the United Nations disarmament negotiations.
  • Argentine Adolfo Perez Esquivel, Nobel Peace Prize in 1980 for founding non-violent human rights organizations to fight against the military junta that ruled his Argentina
  • Argentine Carlos Saavedra Lamas, who was Foreign Minister, awarded in 1936 for mediating in the conflict between Paraguay and Bolivia.

Other curious facts about the Nobel Peace Prize

  • Two laureates declined the award in their entire history. One of them, that of Peace, was Le Duc Tho, who was to receive him in 1973 together with the Secretary of State of the United States, Henry Kissinger, for negotiating the Vietnam peace agreement. Le Duc Tho said he was not in a position to accept the Nobel Peace Prize, citing the situation in Vietnam.
  • Three Nobel laureates were in custody at the time the award was to be presented: the German pacifist and journalist Carl von Ossietzky; Burmese politician Aung San Suu Kyi and Chinese human rights activist Liu Xiaobo.
  • Posthumous Nobel Laureates: The Statutes of the Nobel Foundation determine, since 1974, that a prize cannot be awarded posthumously, unless death occurred after the announcement of the prize. Before 1974, the Nobel Prize had only been awarded posthumously on two occasions, one of them to Dag Hammarskjöld (1961 Nobel Peace Prize).
  • The youngest person to receive a Nobel Prize was Malala Yousafzai, who at the age of 17 received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.

Source: The Nobel Prize

We wish to thank the author of this write-up for this outstanding content

Nobel Peace Prize: everything you need to know