Nobel Peace Prize 2021: When, where and at what time to see the announcement of the winner?

The Nobel Peace Prize 2021 It will be announced on Friday, October 8. Defenders of press freedom, Belarusian opponents or champions of the climate cause such as the young Swede Greta Thunberg, are among the favorites for the Nobel Peace Prize that is awarded on Friday in Oslo.

As always, every year in the season of Nobel Predictions abound about who could get it.

SIGHT: Nobel Peace Prize 2021: When, where and at what time to see the announcement of the winner?

The exercise is difficult because this year there are 329 candidates, but their identity will remain secret for 50 years. And it is even more difficult since recent advances in peace are scarce.

Among the favorites are defenders of press freedom such as Reporters Without Borders (RSF) and the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ), the IFCN network of fact-checkers, fake news search engines (to which the AFP belongs) or anti-corruption fighters like Transparency International.

The media “help to hold governments (…) to account with their reports” and to counteract “the growing challenge posed by + fake news + and disinformation,” said the director of the Oslo Peace Research Institute. (Prio), Henrik Urdal.

Another possibility is non-violent opposition in Belarus, where authoritarian President Alexander Lukashenko is going into his sixth term after elections widely viewed as fraudulent in August 2020.

A housewife turned candidate despite herself after her husband’s imprisonment, Svetlana Tijanóvskaya claims she won the elections and is leading the protest from her Lithuanian exile.

The 39-year-old is among the nobelisable, alone or with other opposition figures, Maria Kolesnikova and Veronika Tsepkalo.

“It would be a way of underlining at the same time the importance of women, democracy and non-violence”, highlights the Swedish professor Peter Wallensteen, specialist in international affairs.

“An award to Svetlana (Tijanóvskaya) would be an indirect way of criticizing Putin”As Russia is the main supporter of the Belarusian regime, notes Nobel historian Asle Sveen.


2020: World Food Program (WFP) of the UN for “its efforts in the fight against hunger, its contribution to improve the conditions of peace in conflict zones and for having promoted efforts not to turn hunger into a weapon of war ”.

2019: Abiy Ahmed, Ethiopian Prime Minister, for reconciliation between his country and Eritrea.

2018: Gynecologist Denis Mukwege (Democratic Republic of Congo) and Yazidi Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war.

2017: International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) for their fight to abolish nuclear weapons.

2016: Juan Manuel Santos for having contributed to ending half a century of internal war in Colombia.

2015: Quartet for the National Dialogue in Tunisia, which made it possible to save the Tunisian democratic transition.

2014: Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan) and Kailash Satyarthi (India) for their fight against the exploitation of children and young people and for everyone’s right to education.

2013: Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), for its efforts to eradicate such weapons of mass destruction.

2012: European Union, for its integration project that contributed to pacify a continent devastated by two world wars.

2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (Liberia), Leymah Gbowee (Liberia) and Tawakkol Karman (Yemen) for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and their rights to participate in peace processes.


The winner of the Nobel Peace Prize will be announced this Friday, October 8 starting at 11 am Central European Summer Time (CEST), equivalent to 4 am Peru time.

Here is a list of the time in various countries of the region or the world:

USA: 2 a.m. (Pacific time), 5 a.m. (Eastern time)

Peru: 4 am

Mexico: 4 am

Colombia: 3:00 a.m

Venezuela: 5 am

Argentina: 6 am

chili: 6 am

Spain: 11am


The announcement about the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize 2021 can be seen in director by the Nobel Prize website () or .

Facts about the Nobel Peace Prize

  • The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 101 times between 1901 and 2020, to 107 people and 28 organizations, according to Nobel Prize.
  • The Peace medal has the inscription in Latin: “Pro pace et fraternitate gentium”, which when translated means “For peace and the brotherhood of men”.
  • The Nobel Peace Prize is usually awarded at its own ceremony in Oslo, Norway. There were some years when it was not delivered. The most recent case was 1972.
  • Two laureates declined the award in their entire history. One of them, that of Peace, was Le Duc Tho, who was to receive him in 1973 together with the Secretary of State of the United States, Henry Kissinger, for negotiating the Vietnam peace agreement. Le Duc Tho said he was not in a position to accept the Nobel Peace Prize, citing the situation in Vietnam.
  • Three Nobel laureates were in custody at the time the award was to be presented: the German pacifist and journalist Carl von Ossietzky; Burmese politician Aung San Suu Kyi and Chinese human rights activist Liu Xiaobo.
  • Posthumous Nobel Laureates: The Statutes of the Nobel Foundation determine, since 1974, that a prize cannot be awarded posthumously, unless death occurred after the announcement of the prize. Before 1974, the Nobel Prize had only been awarded posthumously on two occasions, one of them to Dag Hammarskjöld (1961 Nobel Peace Prize).
  • The youngest person to receive a Nobel Prize was Malala Yousafzai, who at the age of 17 received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.

With information from AFP

According to the criteria of

Trust Project

Know more



Presidents of Chile, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic, indicated in the "Pandora Papers"
Several rulers from around the world, including the presidents of Chile, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic, are featured in the “Pandora Papers”, an international journalistic investigation published on Sunday that reveals the concealment of assets in tax havens. (Source: AFP)


We want to give thanks to the writer of this short article for this incredible web content

Nobel Peace Prize 2021: When, where and at what time to see the announcement of the winner?