Meet the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry, Physics and Economics | Society | Magazine

The Royal Swedish Academy has released the names of the winners of the international awards that are awarded each year.


This week the winners of the Nobel prizes in Chemistry, Physics and Economics are known, awards that elevate their recipients to the Olympus of their respective disciplines. The organizers have been unveiling day by day and with Swedish punctuality those deserving of the highest distinction in Medicine, Physics, Chemistry, Literature, Peace and Economics. These awards will be delivered on December 10.

Nobel Prize in Economics

The canadian David Card and the americans Joshua D. Angrist and the dutch-american Guido W. Imbens are the winners of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Economics. Card has been awarded for “his empirical contributions” to labor economics, while Angrist and Imbens receive the award for “their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships.”

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences valued that the winners “have shown that many of the great questions of society can be answered”, according to Eph. “Their solution is to use natural experiments, situations that arise in real life that resemble random experiments,” explains the institution.

They also consider that all three “have provided new insights into the labor market and have shown what conclusions about cause and effect can be drawn from natural experiments”, an approach that “has spread to other fields” and “has revolutionized empirical research.”

David Card received his doctorate in economics in 1983 from Princeton University. He has developed a large part of his academic and research career at this institution. With his experiments he has analyzed “the effects of the minimum wage, immigration and education in the labor market”, argues the institution. Card also won the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Economics in 2014.

For its part, Angrist and Imbens “showed what conclusions about cause and effect can be drawn from natural experiments”. “The framework they developed has been widely adopted by researchers working with observational data,” continues the Academy.

Thus, of the 10 million Swedish crowns (more than one million dollars) in which the Nobel Prize in Economics consists, five million will go to Card while the other five will be divided equally between the other two winners.

The Nobel Prize in Economics is the last to be awarded annually.

Nobel Prize in Physics

The warning message about the advance of global warming and the devastating scenarios posed by the climate crisis are the result of a science that, far from speculation, has already consolidated its theoretical base and is capable of launching firm predictions. So much so that this year he has deserved the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics. Specifically, the recognition goes to three researchers who, in one way or another, have contributed to a better understanding of this phenomenon.

The prestigious award is divided into two parts. The first goes to the researcher of Japanese origin Sykuro manabe and to German Klaus Hasselmann for his research in mathematical models that allow us to understand the evolution of the Earth’s climate. The other half of the recognition falls on the Italian physicist Giorgio Parisi, whose work has allowed us to delve into mathematical models to study all kinds of complex phenomena.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Announcement of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. EFE / EPA / Claudio Bresciani
Photo: EFE

The art of creating organic molecules (or asymmetric organocatalysis, for friends) won the 2021 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. As announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, this year’s prestigious award goes to the German researcher Benjamin List (1997, Frankfurt, Germany) and in the British David MacMillan (1968, Bellshill, UK). The first, enthusiastically, explains that he has received the happy news during his family vacation. The second has not responded to the call from the Academy, so his name has risen to stardom without him knowing.

Curiosities of the Nobel Prize

  • Alfred Nobel (1833-1896) was a Swedish chemist, engineer, and businessman. He is the inventor of dynamite, and he also registered another 350 patents. His immense fortune was destined for the Nobel Prizes, which were instituted in 1895 as his last wish to reward the best exponents of literature, medicine, physics, chemistry and peace.
  • The prizes are awarded to individuals or institutions that have contributed significantly to the development of humanity. The winners also receive the gold medal, a diploma and a financial prize of around $ 950,000.
  • The famous scientist Marie Curie is the only person to win recognition in two different scientific fields: Physics (1903) and Chemistry (1911).
  • The Nobel Prize in Economics is the only prize that was not established by Alfred Nobel in his will. It was instituted in 1969 by the Bank of Sweden.
  • All prizes are awarded in Stockholm, except for the Nobel Peace Prize, which takes place in Oslo, Norway.
  • In 2020, the ceremony was not in person due to the coronavirus pandemic, something that had not happened since 1944.

We would like to thank the writer of this post for this incredible material

Meet the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry, Physics and Economics | Society | Magazine

Hank Gilbert