‘Joker’ leads the way among BAFTA Award nominations

CINEMA – We know the list of nominees for the BAFTA Awards. Todd Philips’ “Joker” leads the field with 11 nominations, closely followed by Netflix-produced “The Irishman” (Martin Scorsese’s 14th BAFTA nomination) and “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” (Quentin Tarantino’s 11th nomination for the BAFTAs). BAFTA) with 10 nominations each. They are closely followed by “1917 ″ by Sam Mendes with 9 nominations.

The British Academy will almost certainly have to face some criticism given that no actor of color has been nominated in the main categories. In addition, no female filmmaker is on the list of nominees for the award for best director. Amanda Berry, the Executive Director of BAFTA, said herself “disappointed” by the lack of gender diversity in the list of candidates according to CNN.

On the other hand, Margot Robbie will compete with … herself for the title of Best Supporting Actress, nominated for her performances in “Scandal” and “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood”. She will also face Scarlett Johansson, nominated for Best Leading Actress for her role in “Marriage Story”, for her performance in “Jojo Rabbit”.

As for distributors, Netflix outclasses all others with 23 nominations, including 10 for “The Irishman” and 5 for “Marriage Story” and “The Two Popes”, followed by Sony Pictures with 16 nominations, “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood ”Counting 10 to him alone.

The nominees for the BAFTAs were unveiled early this Tuesday, January 7 in London. Asa Butterfield (“Sex Education”) and Ella Balinska (“Charlie’s Angels”) read the shortlists. And for the first time, these included a category for the best cast.

The awards ceremony will therefore take place at the Royal Albert Hall in London on February 2. In the meantime, here is below is the full list of nominations.

All nominated for the 2020 BAFTA Awards:

Best film:

“The Irishman”
“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”

Best British Film:

“For Sama”
“Sorry We Missed You”
“The Two Popes”

Best Director:

Sam Mendes (“1917”)
Martin Scorsese (“The Irishman”)
Todd Phillips (“Joker”)
Quentin Tarantino (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”)
Bong Joon-ho (“Parasite”)

Best Actress:

Jessie Buckley (“Wild Rose”)
Scarlett Johansson (“Marriage Story”)
Saoirse Ronan (“Little Women”)
Charlize Theron (“Scandal”)
Renée Zellweger (“Judy”)

Best actor:

Leonardo DiCaprio (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”)
Joaquin Phoenix (“Joker”)
Adam Driver (“Marriage Story”)
Taron Egerton (“Rocketman”)
Jonathan Pryce (“The Two Popes”)

Best Supporting Actor:

Tom Hanks (“A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood”)
Anthony Hopkins (“The Two Popes”)
Al Pacino (“The Irishman”)
Joe Pesci (“The Irishman”)
Brad Pitt (“Once Upon A Time … in Hollywood”)

Best Supporting Actress:

Laura Dern (“Marriage Story”)
Scarlett Johansson (“Jojo Rabbit”)
Florence Pugh (“Little Women”)
Margot Robbie (“Scandal”)
Margot Robbie (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”)

Best Adapted Scenario:

Steven Zaillian (“The Irishman”)
Taika Waititi (“Jojo Rabbit”)
Todd Phillips, Scott Silver (“Joker”)
Greta Gerwig (“Little Women”)
Anthony McCarten (“The Two Popes”)

Best Original Screenplay:

Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman (“Booksmart”)
Rian Johnson (“Knives Out”)
Noah Baumbach (“Marriage Story”)
Quentin Tarantino (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”)
Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho (“Parasite”)

Best New UK Writer, Director or Producer:

Mark Jenkin, Kate Byers, Linn Waite (“Bait”)
Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts (“For Sama”)
Alex Holmes (“Maiden”)
Harry Wootliff (“Only You”)
Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio (“Retablo”)

Best Film Music:

Thomas Newman (“1917 ″)
Michael Giacchino (“Jojo Rabbit”)
Hildur Guđnadóttir (“Joker”)
Alexandre Desplat (“Little Women”)
John Williams (“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”)

Best photography:

Roger Deakins (“1917”)
Rodrigo Prieto (“The Irishman”)
Lawrence Sher (“Joker”)
Phedon Papamichael (“Le Mans ’66 ″)
Jarin Blaschke (“The Lighthouse”)

New talent voted by the public:

Kaitlyn Dever
Kelvin Harrison Jr.
Jack Lowden
Micheal ward

Best Foreign Language Film:

Lulu Wang, Daniele Melia (“The Farewell”)
Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts (“For Sama”)
Pedro Almodóvar, Agustín Almodóvar (“Pain and Glory”)
Bong Joon-ho (“Parasite”)
Céline Sciamma, Bénédicte Couvreur (“Portrait of a Lady On Fire”)

Best Documentary Film:

Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert (“American Factory”)
Todd Douglas Miller (“Apollo 11 ″)
Asif Kapadia (“Diego Maradona”)
Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts (“For Sama”)
Karim Amer, Jehane Noujaim (“The Great Hack”)

Best Animated Feature:

Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, Peter Del Vecho (“Frozen 2 ″)
Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh (“Klaus”)
Will Becher, Richard Phelan, Paul Kewley (“Shaun the Sheep The Movie: The Farm Strikes Back”)
Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen (“Toy Story 4”)

Best Cast:

Shayna Markowitz (“Joker”)
Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler (“Marriage Story”)
Victoria Thomas (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”)
Sarah Crowe (“The Personal History of David Copperfield”)
Nina Gold (“The Two Popes”)

Best Editing:

Thelma Schoonmaker (“The Irishman”)
Tom Eagles (“Jojo Rabbit”)
Jeff Groth (“Joker”)
Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker (“Le Mans ’66 ″)
Fred Raskin (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”)

Best scenery:

Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandals (“1917 ″)
Bob Shaw, Regina Graves (“The Irishman”)
Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková (“Jojo Rabbit”)
Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran (“Joker”)
Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”)

Best costumes:

Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell (“The Irishman”)
Mayes C. Rubeo (“Jojo Rabbit”)
Jany Temime (“Judy”)
Jacqueline Durran (“Little Women”)
Arianne Phillips (“Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood”)

Best Makeup and Hairstyles:

Naomi Donne (“1917 ″)
Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan (“Scandal”)
Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann (“Joker”)
Jeremy Woodhead (“Judy”)
Lizzie Yianni Georgiou (“Rocketman”)

Best sound:

Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson (“1917”)
Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic (“Joker”)
David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester (“Le Mans ’66”)
Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan (“Rocketman”)
David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood (“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”)

Best visual effects:

Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy (“1917 ″)
Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick (“Avengers: Endgame”)
Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman (“The Irishman”)
Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez (“The Lion King”)
Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy (“Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker”)

Best animated short film:

Maryam Mohajer (“Grandad Was a Romantic”)
Kathrin Steinbacher (“In Her Boots”)
Naaman Azhari, Lilia Laurel (“The Magic Boat”)

Best Fictional Short Film:

Myriam Raja, Nathanael Baring (“Azaar”)
Hector Dockrill, Harri Kamalanathan, Benedict Turnbull, Laura Dockrill (“Goldfish”)
Sasha Rainbow, Rosalind Croad (“Kamali”)
Carol Dysinger, Elena Andreicheva (“Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You’re a Girl”)
Lena Headey, Anthony Fitzgerald (“The Trap”)

See also on The HuffPost: At the Golden Globes, Ricky Gervais pays Harvey Weinstein

We wish to thank the author of this short article for this incredible material

‘Joker’ leads the way among BAFTA Award nominations

Hank Gilbert